Hello! 👋

These forums are now archived (read only).

Join us on Discord.

client connection is flaky

I am new to Synergy having just bought it and set it up today.  My server is a Windows 10 desktop PC named 'Alien', and the client is a Windows 8 laptop named 'Laptop' (connected to a docking station).

When I first installed it, everything worked on the first try.  My laptop is even connected to a VPN for my work and that's not causing a problem.  This is so perfect and I love it!  But it didn't last...

After a few hours of using it with no problems at all, I rebooted the desktop PC that acts as the server (because it nagged me about windows updates).  Then my problems started.

First my client can't find the IP address of my server by its name Alien.  To work around this, I put the IP address 192.168.0.2 instead of the name Alien.  I feel like I fixed this problem weeks ago to enable my wife's laptop to download files off this machine, but I can't remember what I did... something about making Alien discoverable on my home network?  I'm not sure and I can't find it.  IIRC I set up my router to always give Alien the same IP 192.168.0.2 so this should be OK, hopefully.

Now my client can try to connect, but it always times out.  I disabled my firewall, turned off my VPN, stopped and restarted the synergy service, and I can't figure it out.  The client is just stick timing out.

After poking at the options in Synergy and the control panels on both machines for about an hour, I ran out of time and had to leave for a few hours.  When I came back, the Synergy log on the server said it was connected.  I wonder how it fixed itself??  but my laptop was locked on the lock screen, and wouldn't respond to ctrl+alt+del to login...

So I opened the laptop and used the built-in keyboard to login.  Now I see that Synergy is working great again.

I tried to see if it can connect to Alien by name instead of IP, and it can.